Remaining time: 

    Shortlist announced for 2020 The Stage Awards

    The shortlist for next year's The Stage Awards has been announced with Death of a SalesmanLife of Pi and & Juliet among the nominees. The winners will be announced on 31 January 2020 in a ceremony held at the Royal Opera House in London. The overall shortlist was finalised by the senior editorial team of The Stage, following deliberation, consultation with top industry leaders and a public nomination process.

    Shortlist announced for 2020 The Stage Awards
    The Stage Awards will take place at London's Royal Opera House. (Photo by Sim Canetty-Clarke.)

    About The Stage Awards 2020

    The Stage Awards were founded to celebrate major West End theatrical achievements, as well as achievements in fringe and international theatre and next year's ceremony will introduce a new category for Achievement in Technical Theatre. The Young Vic team, which has been nominated for setting up emergency scratch performances of Death of a Salesman within 24 hours after a part of the ceiling collapsed in the Piccadilly Theatre mid-show, will be up against productions that put on two of 2019's most technically complex shows – Anna at the National Theatre and the Sheffield Theatres production of Life of Pi.

    Another notable nominee for the evening includes the recently-unveiled Boulevard Theatre in Soho for Theatre Building of the Year. The innovative Art Deco venue, formerly known as the Raymond Revuebar strip club, has been completely transformed by Soda Architects into a modern theatre with a balcony and Stalls that can rotate, a stage that can shift levels, and a decadent 1920s-esque bar. The hip new theatre is currently running its inaugural season opener, Ghost Quartet.

    Read the full list of nominees below.

    The Stage Awards 2020 list of nominees in full

    Regional Theatre of the Year
    — Derby Theatre
    — Royal Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh
    — Sheffield Theatres
    London Theatre of the Year
    — Queen's Theatre Hornchurch
    Theatre Royal Stratford East
    — London Palladium
    Fringe Theatre of the Year
    — Alphabetti Theatre, Newcastle
    — Bunker Theatre, London
    — Orange Tree Theatre, London
    Theatre Building of the Year
     Boulevard Theatre, London
    — Leeds Playhouse
    — Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts, London
    Producer of the Year
    — ATG Productions
    — Fuel
    — Michael Harrison Entertainment
    International Award
     Coronet Theatre, London
    — Milo Rau
     Selladoor Worldwide
    Innovation Award
    — & Juliet for its Smash Hits marketing campaign
    — Artistic Directors of the Future for its work to diversify theatre boards
     Immersive LDN for providing a hub for immersive theatre in London
    Achievement in Technical Theatre
    — Ben and Max Ringham, and the entire team of Anna at the National Theatre
    — Sheffield Theatres' creative and production team for its work on Life of Pi
    — Young Vic's production team for the scratch performances of Death of a Salesman

    Nicholas Ephram Ryan Daniels

    Ephram is a jack of all trades and enjoys attending theatre, classical music concerts and the opera.

    Related news

    Giles Terera returns to Hamilton for 6 weeks only!

    Posted on | By Sarah Gengenbach |

    It has been announced today that from 17 December Giles Terera will be returning to London’s Hamilton to repris... Read more

    Full cast announced for The Da Vinci Code

    Posted on | By Jade Ali |

    Based on the best-selling novel by Dan Brown and the blockbuster hit that captivated the world, The Da Vinci Code is ... Read more

    The Human Voice starring Ruth Wilson to have limited West End run!

    Posted on | By Jade Ali |

    Two-time Olivier Award-winner Ruth Wilson reunites with director Ivo van Hove for the first time since their acc... Read more

    Follow us for instant updates and special offers

    Sign up to our mailing list and be the first to hear about new West End shows and exclusive ticket discounts. We value your privacy. You can unsubscribe at any time. But we hope you won’t!